I have my 3 domains on an auto update script using ddclient and it updates the hosts with different IPs every weekend on Sunday. This has been running well for over a year now.
Recently a colleague received a notice for his dyndns account saying that "new changes" to the SLA have been put in place and users of free accounts need to log in manually to update their hosts IPs, otherwise they will be deleted. Use of update clients will no longer work.
Why is this so? Its ridiculous that a host/domain I bother to setup on a ddclient script so I don't lose it, would not be in use and be "dormant/no longer needed". This is a very poor excuse for forcing users to pay.
What has possessed dyndns to come up with this? If this nonsense about logging in manually is indeed true (and I suspect it is, since I updated my hosts 4 days ago and I'm now sent an email saying they will expire in 5 days time), then dyndns can take back my account. I'll just go to someone who appreciates their users.
asked May 08 at 12:21 PM in DNS & Domains
The question has been closed May 08 at 12:32 PM by RotBlitz for the following reason:
Duplicate Question: http://www.dyncommunity.com/questions/32535/authorization-policy-changed.html
This is a pure user to user (community) forum, and we users like you do not have any information exceeding yours.
No, just to login manually, not to update the hostnames.
answered May 08 at 12:32 PM